Brookfield Community Council

About us:

Brookfield Community Council, like other Community Councils, is set up under the Scheme for the Establishment of Community Councils, which has been approved by Renfrewshire Council. Brookfield Community Council has its own Constitution, which also has been approved by Renfrewshire Council. Each year the Community Council receives an Administration Grant from Renfrewshire Council to assist with running costs.

Our role: 

  • To communicate with Renfrewshire Council on issues such as roads, drainage, sewerage, lighting, speed limits and dog fouling.
  • To be consulted in relation to planning applications affecting properties in the area and to respond to them.


In terms of the Scheme, members are elected to serve for a period of four years. The Community Council shall comprise of a minimum of seven members and a maximum of 21 members. Elections for the Community Councils in Renfrewshire were held in September 2015 and the following members were elected to serve on Brookfield Community Council until 2019:

  • Margaret Dundas (Chair)
  • Jim Fletcher (Vice Chair)
  • David Ritchie (Treasurer)
  • Marjory Love (Secretary)
  • Jim Beckett
  • Ian Climie
  • Alex Glass
  • Roy Lees
  • Sharon Paterson
  • Tizi Semple


Brookfield Community Council meets on the second Thursday of the month, every second month in the Village Hall Library at 7.30 pm. These meetings are open to the public and are usually attended by our local Renfrewshire Councillors and Police Scotlad.

  • 10 August 2017

Minutes of the meetings of the Community Council are distributed not only to members of the Community Council but also to Renfrewshire Council, our local Councillors, MEPs, and MP. The Paisley Daily Express also receives a copy. Minutes are also displayed on the notice board in the Village Hall along with an agenda for each meeting.


The Annual General Meeting is held on the last Thursday in October in the Village Hall. 

Contact us:

Contact Marjory Love by email or phone 01505 320497